Honorary President

Professor Mayor was UNESCO’s Director-General between 1987 and 1999, creating the Culture of Peace Programme and propitiating that the United Nations General Assembly declared the International Decade for the Promotion of a Culture of Peace and Non-Violence, 2001-2010. In 2005, he was designed co-president for the UN High Level Group for the Alliance of Civilizations, by Kofi Annan. He is a commissioner of Earth Charter International and has been nominated twice for the Nobel Peace Prize.